Gerry recommends
these sites:

izzylives
the-book-bag
robin-smith
unclebob
dancingbrave
morganzola

And anything on:
damnhellasskings
televisionwithoutpity

Want the latest
TV industry news?:
TV Barn Ticker

What's that? You wish you could know when this site has been updated? No problem.
Enter your Email address.


Powered by NotifyList.com
NO SPAM. WE PROMISE.

Recent Entries:
It's Baaack!

Familiar Story

A Change In Attitude

It�s Tuesday. Did Gerry Get His Car?

Can It Get Worse?


Some of the more solidly constructed entries:
The Kevin Dowling Mystery

Exposing literal hypocrisy

Police and the after-party

Softball and economics

Amnesia isn't as fun as advertised


Rants:
Insane Justice

Who's Ruining the Planet for Whom?

Shut up with your "free speech" already.

It's called a "turning lane".

Who left this pot empty?

contact me older entries newest entry

Forgetfullness, Jessica, and Cancer.

2004-01-29 - 7:28 a.m.

It seems that my brain is tired of the Blue Blahs of Winter. It has developed a defense mechanism: forgetfulness. You�ve heard the phrase �forget your troubles�? That�s what I�m doing.

Yesterday I experienced some small success at work. It was followed by a couple hours of satisfaction, until I received a call from a project manager that reminded me of another project that is due this week. I had conveniently forgotten about it, allowing me those few moments of blissful ignorance.

And then this morning I was sitting in bed, thinking about my finances and how I seem to be in good shape� and whoops! Forgot to make car a payment this month. So that�s why I was feeling so good about myself.

Even so, I still feel a little happier today. Which probably means that in about 20 minutes I�ll remember that I have heart cancer. Oh well, it feels good now.


Once again, I missed Newlyweds: Nick and Jessica. Oh well. It just gives me another reason to watch the inevitable marathon.

I remembered that I forgot it because I was out for dinner last night with Dan and Christy, and Christy brought it up. Christy made me laugh when she was talking about that show. She said, �That Jessica isn�t as snooty as I expected. And she�s very pleasant to look at.�

Yes. Yes, she is. She is very pleasant to look at. She gives me a warm feeling in my heart� warm like oh my god, the cancer!.

Heh. Just kidding.


And before you get all, �That�s not funny, Gerry. You shouldn�t joke about cancer. My great aunt on my mother�s side had heart cancer�� lighten up. If you can�t joke about cancer, well, then that�s when the cancer wins. Or the terrorists. Somebody. Somebody wins. I forget who.

Cancer is on my mind because right now I�m selling 50-50 tickets for my Relay for Life team. So there. I�m doing something about it. Whenever people ask me where the money goes, my favorite answer is, �Cancer (We�re against it).� Like it�s a political issue on which you have to make your position clear. I always laugh when I hear somebody say, �I�m raising money for Leukemia�, or some other disease. Why? Is Leukemia down on its luck? Is it not infecting as many people as it could if it just had a couple more bucks? Well then, by all means, let�s help Leukemia out! Raising money for hunger? Sure! Here�s a few dollars, make sure you take some food away from that fat kid down the block.


O.K., time to get to work. I don�t remember why, it just seems like something I should be doing.

Listening to: Sheryl Crow
Watching: Nothing
Drinking: Troegs and Yuengling Lagers.

Previous - Next

Leave a comment
0 comments on this entry so far...

Donate money to Gerry's Relay For Life Team.
Proceeds go to The American Cancer Society.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!