Gerry recommends
these sites:

izzylives
the-book-bag
robin-smith
unclebob
dancingbrave
morganzola

And anything on:
damnhellasskings
televisionwithoutpity

Want the latest
TV industry news?:
TV Barn Ticker

What's that? You wish you could know when this site has been updated? No problem.
Enter your Email address.


Powered by NotifyList.com
NO SPAM. WE PROMISE.

Recent Entries:
It's Baaack!

Familiar Story

A Change In Attitude

It�s Tuesday. Did Gerry Get His Car?

Can It Get Worse?


Some of the more solidly constructed entries:
The Kevin Dowling Mystery

Exposing literal hypocrisy

Police and the after-party

Softball and economics

Amnesia isn't as fun as advertised


Rants:
Insane Justice

Who's Ruining the Planet for Whom?

Shut up with your "free speech" already.

It's called a "turning lane".

Who left this pot empty?

contact me older entries newest entry

A Change In Attitude

2004-04-22 - 6:43 a.m.

I walked to the Chrysler dealer on Wednesday morning to have them drive me into work. The person upon whom I had been relying for a ride to the office doesn't work there anymore. She had turned in her notice before I had the initial accident, and her last day was still over a month away at that time. I never believed that it would take that long to fix my car. But there I was, no company cars available, and no ride in. The Chrysler dealer offers a shuttle service and I figured it was time to take advantage of it. Maybe making them take responsibility for my transportation might lend some urgency to their task.

As I left there in a minivan, the service manager was all smiles.

�It will be done today. We�ll give you a call and send a car to pick you up as soon as it�s ready. Have a good day!�

I told them not to wait until 4 or 5 to call. If it was done sooner, let me know. I wanted time to check it out and test drive it while there were still people there to question and address any problems.

They called at about 2:45. But the cheery optimism was gone. And so was the confrontational attitude of Tuesday.

�Mr. Gerry, this is Steve at Brubaker�s. We wanted to let you know that we have found further damage to the head. We have ordered a new one, which won�t be in until Friday. When it comes in, we won�t wait, obviously, we�ll put it on right away. Because of this, we�d like to put you in a rental car for the duration of the repairs.�

Bad new, but finally the contrite and apologetic attitude I have been looking for. Where was that a week ago, when I picked up the car and it didn�t work? Notice how they had to point out that they will put the part on as soon as they get it. While this would be obvious with most garages, for them it goes against policy.

They gave me another PT Cruiser, which turned out to be a very smart move on their part, because I had gotten used to not having mine. I was telling people at the office that I didn�t ever want to see the thing again, and I had spent my lunch hour investigating cars on Saturn�s website. Saturn knows how to do service right. But once inside a Cruiser again, I realized that I like my car. I just hate the way my dealer treats me. Well, there are other dealers in the area. I�ll just have to give them a try.

So, now I have a car. An �03 PT Cruiser, Limited Edition, with leather interior. I�m not impressed with the leather, except for the steering wheel. I�ll have to get myself a steering wheel cover when I get mine back.


I feel the need to announce that I do not care about the finale of Friends. I�m sorry, it�s not the best sit-com in history. Not even close. It�s an average show that had some brilliant moments. It seemed better than it was because there were so many bad shows out there. A dune looks like a mountain in the desert. But you can�t even name an episode that was a classic TV moment in the same way that Seinfeld�s �The Contest� was. I can name more hilarious Cheers episodes than Friends episodes.

So it mystifies me that TV Land has decided to �go dark� for the time-slot of the Friends finale. Why? Out of respect? Balderdash. It ain�t that important. Because they think that everyone will be watching Friends, so why compete? That�s a load of crap. Plenty of people will be looking for some counter-programming, trust me. That show is at its worst when it gets all weepy over Rachel, and I expect the finale to be full of that sort of thing.

What I suspect is some kind of �corporate synergy� between TV Land and the MSNBC conglomerate. Are they owned by the same parent company? I�m too lazy to check. But this sounds like a move to boost the ratings of the finale, thus supporting NBC�s claim that this is the most important TV event of our lifetime.

And trust me TV Land, no channel ever gained ratings by showing nothing.

Listening to: George Strait, borrowed from a friend. Eh.
Watching: That 70's Show.
Drinking: PBR. Palatable in a bottle.

Previous - Next

Leave a comment
3 comments on this entry so far...

Maureen - 2004-04-22 08:42:43
What?! More problems! Well it is about time they are giving you a rental, I'm glad to hear it. And as for Friends, I feel the same way. i think I gave the tv the double middle finger the other day when the commercial come on for the 'last three new episodes.' Whatever. It's not like they have a janitor on that show.
-------------------------------
Cheryl - 2004-04-23 16:26:29
Hey there! I had to go to my Saturn client today and asked about their service. You can take any car there and all service centers are connected through out the country so if you are in another city that city's dealer can look up your car's history. I didn't know if you knew that or not. Just though I would pass it along.
-------------------------------
elephteria - 2004-04-26 18:41:36
PT Cruisers are so cool looking. I've got my heart set on a mini cooper, though . . . hopefully, I'l' get around to getting mine BEFORE every other car on the highway is a mini cooper.
-------------------------------

Donate money to Gerry's Relay For Life Team.
Proceeds go to The American Cancer Society.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!