Gerry recommends
these sites:

izzylives
the-book-bag
robin-smith
unclebob
dancingbrave
morganzola

And anything on:
damnhellasskings
televisionwithoutpity

Want the latest
TV industry news?:
TV Barn Ticker

What's that? You wish you could know when this site has been updated? No problem.
Enter your Email address.


Powered by NotifyList.com
NO SPAM. WE PROMISE.

Recent Entries:
It's Baaack!

Familiar Story

A Change In Attitude

It�s Tuesday. Did Gerry Get His Car?

Can It Get Worse?


Some of the more solidly constructed entries:
The Kevin Dowling Mystery

Exposing literal hypocrisy

Police and the after-party

Softball and economics

Amnesia isn't as fun as advertised


Rants:
Insane Justice

Who's Ruining the Planet for Whom?

Shut up with your "free speech" already.

It's called a "turning lane".

Who left this pot empty?

contact me older entries newest entry

Can It Get Worse?

2004-04-15 - 7:39 p.m.

Yesterday�s entry was titled �You Are Not Gonna Believe This�. I wish I had saved that title for today. I mean, yesterday was just a continuation of the accident. Sure, I had car trouble, but, you know, there was an explanation. I hit a curb. Did some damage to the front end. It didn�t look bad, but apparently was. It took a month to fix. That, by itself, was stretching the limits of credulity. After all, it was only a low concrete curb.

So when I picked it up and it didn�t run right, after all that time, I was pissed. When they said they might not even get to it until Friday, I was livid. But what choice did I have?

I called them today at 3pm to ask if, by some miracle, they had gotten to it. And lo, they were working on it at that moment.

�The technician is diagnosing it right now. He has been for some time. I�ll call you back when we have any news,� said Steve the Service Guy.

Some time now? That can�t be good, can it? It�s been in the shop for the last month. It drove yesterday. It can�t be that bad, can it?

Oh, yes, it can. And here is where it goes from incredible to surreal.

Steve calls back at 4:30.

�We�ve diagnosed the problem. We don�t think it�s accident related, but it will be covered under warranty. It has a blown head gasket.�

A blown head gasket. Just about the worst thing that can happen to a car. A car I bought less than 2 years ago.

�Head gasket?� I chuckled, my mind blown as well.

�Yeah. I don�t see how it could be accident related. It is quite a coincidence.�

You have a gift for understatement, Steve.

�I don�t think it will be ready until Tuesday. It could be Monday, but I don�t want to promise that. Better count on Tuesday.�

Another weekend without it. I�m clinging to that word, �warranty�. As long as I don�t have to pay for this, I guess I�m happy. Better than it blowing up on the highway somewhere.

Steve went on to point out that the warranty didn�t cover a rental car, but he could let me have one for a day, that was the best he could do. I thanked him, but declined. A car for one day out of five isn�t going to help that much. But it was the most anyone has offered me over the last month, so I appreciated the effort.

Tuesday will be five weeks since the accident. Almost a tenth of a year. I am having a hard time keeping this in perspective.


In other news, I received the check from the dental insurance today. $67. I think I�ll use it to get drunk.

Listening to: Chris Rock on Howard Stern
Watching: South Park
Drinking: Lager

Previous - Next

Leave a comment
0 comments on this entry so far...

Donate money to Gerry's Relay For Life Team.
Proceeds go to The American Cancer Society.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!