Gerry recommends
these sites:

izzylives
the-book-bag
robin-smith
unclebob
dancingbrave
morganzola

And anything on:
damnhellasskings
televisionwithoutpity

Want the latest
TV industry news?:
TV Barn Ticker

What's that? You wish you could know when this site has been updated? No problem.
Enter your Email address.


Powered by NotifyList.com
NO SPAM. WE PROMISE.

Recent Entries:
It's Baaack!

Familiar Story

A Change In Attitude

It�s Tuesday. Did Gerry Get His Car?

Can It Get Worse?


Some of the more solidly constructed entries:
The Kevin Dowling Mystery

Exposing literal hypocrisy

Police and the after-party

Softball and economics

Amnesia isn't as fun as advertised


Rants:
Insane Justice

Who's Ruining the Planet for Whom?

Shut up with your "free speech" already.

It's called a "turning lane".

Who left this pot empty?

contact me older entries newest entry

The Winter Blahs.

2004-01-28 - 7:25 a.m.

There hasn�t been a lot of activity on this site lately. Where have I been? Busy. And lazy at the same time. I have so much going on right now that when I think about, I get depressed and do nothing, making matters worse.

Yes, I�ve been pretty down this week. I�ve really got no reason to complain, other than things are a little behind at work and the weather sucks. But for some reason that seems to be enough.

When I start to complain, it sounds awful because others have it so much worse than I do. Yesterday I was so down at lunchtime, I decided to forego the lunch I had brought and just to get out of the office. When I got to the local sandwich shop, there was a sign on the door saying that they would be closed Thursday due to a death in the family. I know people at the office who are going through problems with their marriages. Others have sick children. Most of the things I�m dealing with, they are all dealing with in addition to real problems. Lots of things are going fine for me. The worst I can say is that I have no �significant other� right now. I could probably say that I�m better off right now than I�ve ever been in my life. But it just feels like I don�t have anything to look forward to right now. I guess I should schedule something. It would have to be something that doesn�t cost money.

Enough public moping.


I have been watching the new Dennis Miller show. What a train wreck. It had better get better soon, for Dennis�s sake. The whole think is awkward and plagued with technical difficulties. He decided against a studio audience, but is still in the habit of breaking for laughter during monologues. All you can hear is the sycophantic laughter of the crew in the background. It sounds so sad.

And I�m all for the idea of a monkey, but in practice it doesn�t work.


Note to the producers of the �Hollywood Home Game� World Poker Tournament (or whatever it�s called) on the Travel Channel: We like the poker. But we tune in for the celebrities. Let us hear them. Let the dealer deal, and let the celebrities be charming. Keep the commentary minimal. And leave your graphics up longer. I can�t read them.

Listening to: Sheryl Crow
Watching: Dennis Miller
Drinking: Nothing.

Previous - Next

Leave a comment
3 comments on this entry so far...

Alicia - 2004-01-28 10:45:17
Well, Gerry, I suggest you re-read my entry from 1-25. In there you will find tons of reasons why being along is better than having a girlfriend. I read it over, and over, and over.....
-------------------------------
Gerry - 2004-01-28 12:35:17
Things are a little better now. I finished a program that was giving me trouble, and the final solution is a lot more simple and elegant than I anticipated.
-------------------------------
Lisa - 2004-01-28 16:16:49
Revel in everything that is happening to you at this moment. Really. Being single kicks ass. So does being in a relationship. It's the yin and the yang. The ice cream and the oysters. I don't really believe that everything happens for a reason. Instead, I think we have a lot of control over which direction our lives go based on how we react and handle what's happening now. God, do I sound like a total freak, or what? I have no idea where that came from or what inspired me to even comment. I never comment. Weird. Uncanny, even. So I'll go away now. Oh, but first, I think I was going to say that I have learned that I can find something positive out of the bleakest situations. I just have to twist things around enough... Yeah. I'm done now. It's been real. It's been fun. But it ain't been real fun. Well, for me it kind of has, but probably not for you. Or anyone else still hanging on here. Jesus. Unemployment is doing odd things to me. Bye for reals.
-------------------------------

Donate money to Gerry's Relay For Life Team.
Proceeds go to The American Cancer Society.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!