Gerry recommends
these sites:

izzylives
the-book-bag
robin-smith
unclebob
dancingbrave
morganzola

And anything on:
damnhellasskings
televisionwithoutpity

Want the latest
TV industry news?:
TV Barn Ticker

What's that? You wish you could know when this site has been updated? No problem.
Enter your Email address.


Powered by NotifyList.com
NO SPAM. WE PROMISE.

Recent Entries:
It's Baaack!

Familiar Story

A Change In Attitude

It�s Tuesday. Did Gerry Get His Car?

Can It Get Worse?


Some of the more solidly constructed entries:
The Kevin Dowling Mystery

Exposing literal hypocrisy

Police and the after-party

Softball and economics

Amnesia isn't as fun as advertised


Rants:
Insane Justice

Who's Ruining the Planet for Whom?

Shut up with your "free speech" already.

It's called a "turning lane".

Who left this pot empty?

contact me older entries newest entry

Familiar Story

2004-04-27 - 10:09 p.m.

The new head was supposed to come in on Friday. They were going to put it on �right away�. So you would have thought that I would have heard from them before Tuesday afternoon, right?

Right. What saga have you been reading?

Of course I hadn�t heard. We�re surprised by this? So once again, I wait to call until 3pm, a reasonable time for someone to have an idea if the car was going to be ready today.

The news? They had, just today, found that the head they received was the wrong part. Some holes didn�t line up with some do-hickeys or something, or whatever. Who cares the reason, the point is: wrong head. They just learned this today. Tuesday. The head, which came in on Friday and they were going to put on right away, wasn�t the correct part.

Either this is some new definition of �right away�, or somebody just isn�t checking their work. Or both.

I wonder: Would they have even let me know if I hadn�t called them?

I asked when they expect to receive the new part. Steve the Service Guy said, �Wednesday.� Wednesday? Tomorrow? Didn�t it take two days to get the first one?

I asked if someone would check it to see if it was the correct part. Steve the Service Guy looked at me as if I was crazy. Of course they would. Hey, it�s not a crazy question. They didn�t do it last time. Somebody has to take responsibility for managing this repair project, and given that I see little evidence that anyone at the garage is doing it, I have to ask the questions. Lord knows they�re not volunteering any information.

So now they are shooting for Friday, the end of this week. If everything goes well. What, in the course of this project, is there to indicate that things will go well? Do you believe this new promise of Friday? Yeah, me neither.

I know that they�re probably as anxious to see this car go away as I am to get it back. They�re losing money on the loaner car and wasting labor attempting to install incorrect parts. And on top of that, they have to deal with the angry owner of the automobile. But wouldn�t you check the part when it came in? At a minimum, wouldn�t you check all your parts before you begin assembling them? If you want to keep the owner off of your ass, wouldn�t you make some pre-emptive phone calls?

I guess we can be sure of one thing: it won�t be ready before Friday. Which means that at least I have some certainty for the next two days. I�m looking for a silver lining.

Six weeks without my car, and counting.

Listening to: Election returns
Watching: PBS
Drinking: Lager

Previous - Next

Leave a comment
3 comments on this entry so far...

Alicia - 2004-04-28 08:20:17
Absolutely unbelievable. I think my head would have exploded by now (much like the one on your car, maybe..). It's almost as if someone is playing a practical joke on you, like on that TV show where they prod and prod you to see how long it will take you to break, and if you make it past a certain amount of time, you win money. Only, no money for you...but at least you get the satisfaction of announcing their suckiness to all who read your diary. Word travels, my friend.
-------------------------------
Gerry - 2004-04-28 09:16:29
You're thinking of MTV's Boiling Point. I prefer to think that my car is on that show where they cutomize it without the owners knowledge. Or on Pimp My Ride.
-------------------------------
Cheryl - 2004-04-28 14:54:10
You should take a few days off and drive that loaner car to Vegas, baby! Won't that be a fine thank you for all their hard work.
-------------------------------

Donate money to Gerry's Relay For Life Team.
Proceeds go to The American Cancer Society.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!