Gerry recommends
these sites:

izzylives
the-book-bag
robin-smith
unclebob
dancingbrave
morganzola

And anything on:
damnhellasskings
televisionwithoutpity

Want the latest
TV industry news?:
TV Barn Ticker

What's that? You wish you could know when this site has been updated? No problem.
Enter your Email address.


Powered by NotifyList.com
NO SPAM. WE PROMISE.

Recent Entries:
It's Baaack!

Familiar Story

A Change In Attitude

It�s Tuesday. Did Gerry Get His Car?

Can It Get Worse?


Some of the more solidly constructed entries:
The Kevin Dowling Mystery

Exposing literal hypocrisy

Police and the after-party

Softball and economics

Amnesia isn't as fun as advertised


Rants:
Insane Justice

Who's Ruining the Planet for Whom?

Shut up with your "free speech" already.

It's called a "turning lane".

Who left this pot empty?

contact me older entries newest entry

A Vanity Project?

2004-01-22 - 7:07 a.m.

You may be wondering where I�ve been the last few days. Well, I�ve been buying myself a few new toys.

Two of my hobbies are music and fantasizing about what I will buy when I win the Powerball lottery. My visions for my millionaire future usually revolve around a huge house, and in the basement of that house will be a wet bar. With a big-screen TV, a pool table, and a stage. And the stage would be set up with equipment for me and my musical friends to play anytime we want.

As it is, I can�t afford a giant TV or a pool table. My current house�s basement isn�t finished. It doesn�t have heat, electrical outlets, or even a level floor, so a pool table is a bad idea right now anyway.

But the other day Alicia and I went to Drums Etc. (which is right around the corner from where I live, hint) to pick up some guitar strings for her, and I saw that nice amp. Their price was very good. And as I thought about it, well, why not have it now? I don�t have a stage, but I probably never will. That shouldn�t stop me from acquiring some equipment, if the deal is good, right?

So now, in addition to my 3 guitars, I have a set-up that�s good enough for public performance (not that that�s my ambition). It�s not �recording quality�, but it sounds pretty damn good. Better than I expected, actually.

I feel kinda funny about it. I enjoy it for myself, which is all that matters, I guess. But there is something that seems vain and indulgent about buying a microphone system for personal use. I feel sheepish about admitting I bought the stuff. Having a home studio is something that you expect from Moby or Ani DiFranco, sure, but me? Why should I have one? I suck. I have no doubt that Simon Cowell would tell me that I am the worst thing he�s ever heard (wasn�t it nice of the universe to organize all the worst singers in successive descending order so that Simon can say that every time?) . I can carry a tune and, with extensive practice, not embarrass myself. But nobody is clamoring for my voice to be amplified.

I am looking at it as expensive toys. Adult toys are expensive. I know guys that spend thousands of dollars on cars, boats, or hunting. If I want some musical equipment, why not? And if I�m gonna get it, and I can afford it, why not get the real stuff? I didn�t spend that much (don�t believe the suggested prices you see on the web).

Yeah, yeah. Whatever, Gerry. A microphone. Who do you think you are?

Listening to: Uhhh... I have to answer: myself
Watching: Barbarians week on the History channel
Drinking: Not today.

Previous - Next

Leave a comment
3 comments on this entry so far...

Caela - 2004-01-22 09:03:36
Way to go! Don't be ashamed about buying your equipment. It just means you're THAT much closer to your Powerball dream, without winning the lottery. This is spoken by someone who owns MUCH more musical equipment than she actually needs. The only thing you need to do to justify it is be sure you USE it. :)
-------------------------------
Gerry - 2004-01-22 09:54:26
Thanks! I will, and I beleive that by making the playing even more fun, I'll do it more and get better.
I thought about it some more, and I know 3 people that own karaoke systems. This isn't any worse than that, right? And I overheard the guys in the next cubicle talking about wanting a $600 golf club. I feel much better now.
-------------------------------
Cheryl - 2004-01-27 19:32:32
I agree! Good for you! I think you are a faulous musician and if you have talent at something the money you spend should be considered an investment. So, I guess any money you spend is an investment because I can't think of anything you're bad at. Yes, I am an adoring baby sister! My big brother can do no wrong!
-------------------------------

Donate money to Gerry's Relay For Life Team.
Proceeds go to The American Cancer Society.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!