Gerry recommends
these sites:

izzylives
the-book-bag
robin-smith
unclebob
dancingbrave
morganzola

And anything on:
damnhellasskings
televisionwithoutpity

Want the latest
TV industry news?:
TV Barn Ticker

What's that? You wish you could know when this site has been updated? No problem.
Enter your Email address.


Powered by NotifyList.com
NO SPAM. WE PROMISE.

Recent Entries:
It's Baaack!

Familiar Story

A Change In Attitude

It�s Tuesday. Did Gerry Get His Car?

Can It Get Worse?


Some of the more solidly constructed entries:
The Kevin Dowling Mystery

Exposing literal hypocrisy

Police and the after-party

Softball and economics

Amnesia isn't as fun as advertised


Rants:
Insane Justice

Who's Ruining the Planet for Whom?

Shut up with your "free speech" already.

It's called a "turning lane".

Who left this pot empty?

contact me older entries newest entry

Now With 100% Less Bon Jovi!

2003-12-05 - 8:51 p.m.

As promised, here�s the playlist of my �Unconventional Christmas Redeux� mix CD. With comments! Yes, I know, �It�s �redux�, stupid!� Well, I made one before, and I�m re-doing it, so it�s number two. Geddit? I�m a sucker for the pun.

1. �I Know This Bar�, Ani DiFranco
For �Christmas lights blinking around a clouded mirror� and the fact that the imagery reminds me of the Christmas breaks when I would get back home with my friends and we would go to the bowling alleys and local bars in Erie, �where all the white kids still have feathered hair.�

2. �Fairytale of New York�, The Pogues
Sometimes known as �Christmas in the Drunk Tank�. �Happy Christmas your arse, I pray God it�s our last� A classic.

3. �I Won't Be Home For Christmas�, Blink 182
A relatively new rocker. Upbeat ranting, with a sense of humor. The start of the �home for Christmas� part of the CD.

4. �Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)�, U2
It fits right, in theme and tempo.

5. �Driving Home for Christmas�, Chris Rea
By now, a much needed happy-themed song. I�ve been looking for a way to use this song. Chris Rea deserves more exposure.

6. �Please Come Home For Christmas�, Southside Johnny and the Jukes
There are so many versions of this song, all good. I was going to use Charles Brown�s but he�ll get his chance next. So, from Jersey, East Coast representin�! Thus ends the �home for Christmas� suite.

7. �Merry Christmas Baby�, Charles Brown and Bonnie Raitt
And now the Blues! �I haven�t had a drink this morning, I�m all lit up like a Christmas tree.� Damn, this is good.

8. �Blues for Christmas�, John Lee Hooker
If there�s a better Blues voice, I never heard it. �I�m sitting here drinkin�, trying to drink my baby back. Sad Christmas. I�m wasted!� That never works John, but we keep tryin�, don�t we?

9. �Blue Christmas�, Sheryl Crow
I love me some Sheryl Crow. Save your comments, I don�t care. And here endeth the Blues.

10. Intro to the next song�

11. �Cry of a Tiny Babe�, Bruce Cockburn with Lou Reed, Rosanne Cash, & Rob Wasserman
A fantastic song that was a favorite on the first version of this CD. From the album Columbia House Radio Hour, Volume 1, which is also great. This song used to make me cry. �Because it�s not to the palace that the Christ child comes, but to shepherds and street people, hookers and bums�. I also love me some Rosanne Cash.

12. �God rest Ye Merry Gentlemen�, Barenaked Ladies with Sarah McLachlan
A traditional carol, but in the Barenaked Ladies� bouncy style. And, say it with me, I love me some Sarah McLachlan.

13. �Song for a Winter�s Night�, Jewel and Sarah McLachlan
Doubling up the Sarah. The original concept of �Unconventional Christmas� was to be songs that were in the Christmas spirit, or about that time of year, but not actually carols. This fits that theme perfectly.

14. �Have a Merry Little Christmas�, Tori Amos
I�m not the Tori Amos fan I once was, and this is a traditional carol, but beautifully done. And we are in a stretch of the CD that is really about sustaining a mood. It�s not a joyous one. Surprise.

15. �Peace�, Norah Jones
I�m very happy to have found this song and to include it. Continues Tori�s piano, and Norah Jones is very big with my crew right now. Actually contains some Spring imagery, but the sentiment is very Christmas. �Peace when the day is done�, �Peace is for everyone.�

16. �River�, The Indigo Girls
Another in the true �Unconventional Christmas� spirit. The Indigo Girls sing Joni Mitchell is mandatory. Hmmm. No wonder my last girlfriend (in a drunk moment) accused me of being gay.

17. �25th of December�, Everything But the Girl
Not helping the gay image, I own every Everything But The Girl CD through Tempermental. Oh well. Why can�t I get a Grace Adler?

18. �A Long December�, Counting Crows
At this time of year, don�t we all want to �believe that maybe this year will be better than the last�? It really has been so long since I�ve seen the ocean�

19. �Christmas Wrapping�, the Waitresses
�Christmas magic brought this tale to a very happy ending�, and Sweet Baby Jesus, we needed one by now. This was actually a request, but I�ve always liked it. Gotta love the 80�s music.

There you have it. It pained me to remove �Baby, It�s Cold Outside� by Ray Charles, but nobody I know needs yet another copy of that song. I could have used some Frank, but he�s too traditional for this CD. Also, good-bye to Tom Petty and Bon Jovi. They never really fit. I looked for a version of Dylan�s �I Believe In You�. The last CD had Sinead O�Connor doing it, but sacrifices had to be made.

It all fits on one CD. Go out and make yourself one. Through strictly legal means, of course.

Listening to: I just told you.
Watching: Nothing tonight.
Drinking: Sam Adams Double Bock Dark Lager. Mmmm, tasty.

Previous - Next

Leave a comment
2 comments on this entry so far...

Gerry - 2003-12-05 22:24:03
You know, speaking of brushes with greatness and Bon Jovi... Jon Bon Jovi's cousin lived in my college dorm! Kathy Bongiovi, Beam Hall, University Park, Fall of '85. She had some very funny pictures of her very normal family having a picnic with cousin Jon and his Big Hair.
-------------------------------
maureen - 2003-12-10 10:31:27
Gimme gimme gimmee, i need i need i need. I'm listening to the first cd in my car exclusively these days. It's Christmas Eve in the drunk tank. Is that some sort of foreshadowing?
-------------------------------

Donate money to Gerry's Relay For Life Team.
Proceeds go to The American Cancer Society.

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!